Track & Field wins All Catholics for the 3rd straight season

St. Francis Track & Field wins the All Catholic Championship for the third straight season amassing a school record 221 team points to win the team title
St. Francis Track & Field won the 2021 All Catholic amassing a school record 221 points over the two day event held at the Gacioch Family Athletic Center on June 5th and 6th.  With its victory the Red Raiders won the Regular Season and All Catholic Titles of the MMHSAA for three straight seasons winning in 2018, 2019 & 2021.
Read more
With the spring season being cancelled in 2020 due to Covid the team overcame all obstacles to compete at a high level throughout the season and culminated in their dominating performance at the All Catholic this past weekend.
All Catholic Highlights for St. Francis
  • 4 x 800 relay got day 1 of the All Catholic off to a big start with Jim Hoffman overtaking 2 teams to take the lead in the event during his 2nd leg and with Anthony Giardina, Chris Jozwiak and Joe Pivarunas the relay ran a season best time of 8:44.43 to win the event.
  • Ben Sheehan broke 22 feet in Long Jump with his best jump of 22’3.  He won the event with Sophomores Andrew Krug (19’11) and Bryce Roberts (18’10.75)finishing 2nd and 3rd behind Sheehan.
    • Matt Sheehan jumped a career best 17’2.5 to win the Frosh Soph Long Jump.
  • Senior Zachary Jaworski won the Shotput with his best throw of 44’8.  Frosh Marcus Harrison placed 2nd with a career best toss of 43’11.75 which reset the frosh record at St. Francis.  Gerard Eberl (36’6) placed 4th in the event.
    • Matt Stadler threw a PR of 32’7.5 to win the Frosh Soph Shotput
  • Erik Shattenberg and Andrew Krug both cleared 5’8 but placed 2nd and 3rd on misses in High Jump.  Bryce Roberts cleared 5’4 to place 4th in the event.
  • Joe Pivarunas placed 4th in the 3200m open running a time of 10:36.23 a PR in the event.  
    • Frosh Nathan Phillips ran down the lead runner in the stretch to take the Frosh Soph 3200m in a time of 11:46.03 a PR.
  • After day 1 the Red Raiders had 78 points after 5 events scored.
  • Jim Hoffman placed 3rd in the 800m running a season best time of 2:07.67.  Chris Jozwiak placed 5th in the 800m with his 2:14.15 effort.
  • Michael Durski won the 100m running a best time of 11.91 into the wind outlasting teammate Bryce Roberts who ran 11.92.  Senior Orry Shattenberg placed 4th with his time of 12.11.
    • Steve Otremba won the Frosh Soph 100m in a time of 12.76 with teammate Sam Hallmark finsihed 2nd with his time of 12.92
  • Michael Durski ran a career best time 52.12 to place 2nd in the 400m.  Orry Shattenberg placed 3rd with a career best effort of 52.23.  Erik Shattenberg placed with 4th with his time of 54.18 a PR.
    • Sam Hallmark ran a PR best time of 55.91 to take 1st in the Frosh Soph 400m.
  • Sophomore Aidan Thomas jumped a career best 42’2 to win the triple jump.  Ben Sheehan placed 2nd with his jump of 41’4 and Andrew Krug gutted out a career best jump of 40’5 to place 3rd in the event.
    • Matt Sheehan jumped 35’6 in the Frosh Soph Triple Jump.
  • Freshman Marcus Harrison reset the frosh discus record at St. Francis with his throw of 136’4 to win the event.  Junior Mason Vail threw 122’1 a PR and Gerard Eberl threw 119’7 to back up Harrison as the Red Raiders went 1-2-3 in the event.
    • Matt Stadler threw a career mark of 90’5 to win the Frosh Soph Discus.
  • Junior Joe Pivarunas held off all challengers in the final lap of 1600m to place 1st in event in a time of 4:49.17.  Sophomore Anthony Giardina placed 6th with his time of 5:03.59.
    • Nathan Phillips ran a 5:31.70 to win the Frosh Soph Mile on Sunday.
  • Senior Ben Sheehan ran a career best of 23.25 to place 2nd in 200m final.  Aidan Thomas ran 25.08 to place 3rd while Junior Gavin Calkins held on to 5th with his time 25.78.
    • Steve Otremba ran a career mark of 25.51 to win the 200m in the Frosh Soph Division.  Aidan Pacholec placed 2nd with a PR of 26.26.
  • The 4 x 400 relay of Michael Durski, Orry Shattenberg, Jim Hoffman and Joe Pivarunas won the event in season best time of 3:41.50 besting 2nd by 8 seconds.
    • The Frosh Soph 4 x 400 of Sam Hallmark, Matt Sheehan, Anthony Giardina and Erik Shattenberg won the event in a time of 4:03.42
  • The 4 x 100 relay of Michael Durski, Orry Shattenberg, Bryce Roberts and Ben Sheehan won the event in a time of 46.22.
    • Frosh Soph 4 x 100 relay of Steve Otremba, Aidan Pacholec, Shane Colley and Matt Sheehan ran 50.05 in the event.
The St. Francis Track and Field team scored 221 points at the All Catholic and in doing so surpassed the 2012 team record of 205 points scored at the All Catholic.  When considering the loss of the 2020 season due to Covid and the uncertainty of the season being run this spring, the 2021 squad came together and moved forward in a positive direction. The team’s development and their steady improvement this spring was on display at all levels throughout the weekend.  Coach Otremba, Coach Hasenoehrl, Coach Janiga and Coach Shaffstall thank all members of the 2021 squad who contributed to the Regular Season and All Catholic Championships.
Varsity All Catholics
Joe Pivarunas 1600m 4 x 800 4 x 400
Michael Durski 100m 4 x 400 4 x 100
Ben Sheehan Long Jump, 4 x 100
Jim Hoffman 4 x 800 4 x 400
Orry Shattenberg 4 x 400 4 x 100
Zachary Jaworski Shotput
Marcus Harrison Discus
Aidan Thomas Triple Jump
Anthony Giardina 4 x 800
Chris Jozwiak 4 x 800
Bryce Roberts 4 x 100
Frosh Soph All Catholics
Matt Sheehan Long Jump Triple Jump 4 x 100 4 x 400
Steve Otremba 100m 200m 4 x 100
Nathan Phillips 1600m 3200m
Matt Stadler Shotput Discus
Sam Hallmark 400m, 4 x 400
Erik Shattenberg 4 x 400
Anthony Giardina 4 x 400
Aidan Pacholec 4 x 100
Shane Colley 4 x 100
Success Begins at St. Francis